You won’t believe what was underneath!

Another day of me trying to make something out of what I have on hand! Today turned out really quite nicely I must admit. I went shopping a few days ago to pick up a few odds and ends but for some reason I was in a dairy mood, I purchased yogurt, seasonal egg nog, aged sharp cheddar, pamigiano reggiano and bananas.

This is interesting because I have a bit of a dairy allergy so I an not really sure what I was thinking buying all these milk products.

Anyhow it was dinner time and I was starving, I had 1 Mandarin orange, 1 bite of fudge and 1/2 of a granola bar by the time 530pm came around which left me quite hungry. Where was breakfast or lunch for that matter?? Who is in charge of me these days, shouldn't I be getting fed more ofter than this? I came home in a rush to find something to cook before my mood turned sour and I became hangry, I really didn't feel like ruining the rest of my night... or anyone else for that matter!

IMG_0192.JPG!

Did you know the national dish in Peru is ceviche but it might was well be cuy because I don't know any other country that eats it? Cuy is basically a gunnie pig roasted on a spit and it seems to be on every Peruvian menu. When it comes to food I would classify myself as the adventurous type, however the only time I visited Peru was when I was living a vegetarian lifestyle so I did not partake in the little rodent on a stick.

I did however notice another popular dish and it was called Lomo Saltado and like their Cuy you can find it almost anywhere. Let me tell you for those who like to carb load the Peruvians know how to do it right!

Lomo Saltado is essentially a stirfry with onions, tomatoes and beef covered in a yellow pepper gravy. You would expect that a stirfry would come with rice and this one does but the beauty of Lomo Saltado in addition to its amazing flavour is that it is served on a bed for fries!!! Can you believe it! Why did I not think of this before!

images.jpeg

Anyhow inspired by Lomo Saltado I decided to make spicy ginger beef plated on a bed of baked yam fries!

IMG_0189.JPG

Nom Nom Nom

This was delicious, I hope I remember what I did so I can make it again! Byeeee rice fries are in the house!

Follow me @kylaki if you want to hear more about my tasty meals or if you want to see what else I'm up to in Canada and around the world!

As always comments, upvotes and resteems are very much appreciated ❤️

Canada Banner .png
Banner by @Bearone

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center