Blueberry Pancakes Anyone?

Before I continue rambling about my pancake journey, let me share a bit of pancake history with y'all from Food Timeline. I figured you guys might be interested ''

Pancakes & crepes
Did you know that the first pancake-type foods were eaten by prehistoric peoples? No, they were not the same pancakes we eat today. These simple, fried concoctions of milk, flour, eggs and spices were called "Alita Dolcia" (Latin for "another sweet") by the Ancient Romans. Depending upon the proportion of ingredients and method of cooking, the finished product might have approximated pancakes, fritters, omlettes, or custard. Some of these dishes were sweet (fruit, nuts, honey); others were savory (cheese, fish, meat). These ancient recipes are also thought to be the relatives of waffles, cakes, muffins, fritters, spoonbread and doughnuts. Pancakes, as we Americans know them today, were "invented" in Medieval Europe.

It is a little crazy to think that in a way pancakes were grandparents of omelettes and muffins, but then it is not surprising at all since they share quite a bit of ingredients. I recommend you guys check out Food Timeline, I often browse through the articles on it, if you like cooking, it is definitely one of the resources to check out to learn more about where modern recipes and foods take roots.

About a month ago I made a post complaining about my pancakes and asked everyone for tips to get better at making them. I have received a lot of tips and support from the community which helped me to better my batter and inspired me to try again. So thank you all :)

I think I finally nailed them!

But you guys are going to be the judge!


Here is the list of the ingredients for the Blueberry Pancakes:

  • a handful of blueberries + extra blueberries for serving;
  • a pinch of salt;
  • 130 ml milk;
  • 2 eggs;
  • 1 tablespoon sugar;
  • 1,5 teaspoon baking powder;
  • 1 teaspoon butter for serving;
  • 120 g sifted flour.

Directions:

In a medium bowl combine salt, flour and baking powder, make a well. Separate egg whites from the yolk, set the eggs whites aside. Place the yolks and milk into the well and mix the batter, if it ends up being too thick add in a little more milk (although with the given amount of ingredients I didn't need to do that).
In another bowl combine sugar and egg whites, whisk until they form stiff peaks, I used a mixer for that. Add the mixture into the batter and stir. Gently mix in the blueberries.
Now this is where my batter seemed a little thinner than I'd expect it to be, but I solved this by adding about half a teaspoon of cornstarch into it.

Lightly oil the pan and cook your pancakes over a medium heat.

Serve with maple syrup, fresh blueberries, nuts, honey or anything else you like or whatever is available to you.


I was pretty happy with the way they turned out, this is actually the first time that I can honestly say I like my pancakes, feeling proud of myself haha.



My husband @matt-a ate most of these and I'm still feeling hungry, I guess now I'm gonna go search for more food in the fridge haha.

Traditional picture of one of my kitty cats, this time it is baby tiger Artax, enjoy!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center