Chicken, Veg & Mozzarella Bake! YUM!!!!

I have a rather large family... when we are together, we are 10 adults and 5 kids to be specific... and whilst I absolutely LOVE cooking and entertaining my family, I have to be quite "wise" when selecting what to prepare as the guys eat like horses and I have limited oven space. lol

On this particular occasion I decided to try something different... Essentially it was a casserole or stew if you prefer, but instead of doing it on a stove top, I thought I would try it in the oven as a bake...

It was a REALLY easy dish to prepare, which is precisely what I want when the objective of the afternoon is to be having fun with the family!

So I grabbed a rectangular baking dish, and put the first layer of veg in, which was diced baby marrows...

Added a little chopped basil, lemon thyme and rosemary

Followed by all the other veg... which consisted of sweet potato, Italian tomatoes, diced carrots and a little onion

Then I placed the chicken on top of the veg and lightly spiced it. My best pieces are the drumsticks and thighs so that is normally my "go to"

Then I made a thickening mix which consisted of two heaped tablespoons of flour, a packet of dry chicken soup and about a cup of milk. shake it up until well blended and then pour over the chicken and veg.

Possibly the YUMMIEST part of it all... was adding the slices of Mozzarella on top of everything... I learnt a cool trick with Mozzarella... because it is quite a soft cheese, it can often be difficult to slice it anything thinner than in doorstop size slices...lol - stick the block of cheese in the freezer for 10 to 15 minutes before you slice it. Works like a dream every time!

Bake it at 180 degrees celcius for approx. one hour and voila!!!

Grubs up folks!

If you do give it a try, I would absolutely LOVE to get your feedback :)

Enjoy!!!!

xxx

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now