Marvelous Manicotti

The most expensive ingredient in this dish is time...
IMG_6668.JPG

This dish starts out with your favorite Italian sausage. However it may be, hot, sweet, three cheese.

IMG_6655.JPG

You want to brown off the sausage until you have some nice crispies in the pan!

IMG_6657.JPG

While the sausage is crisping, I will par boil my manicotti noodles and mix up my cheese filling.

I cook the manicotti noodles to just before el dente.

IMG_6658.JPG

I use ricotta cheese for the stuffing base. To the cheese I add some of the sauce I plan on covering the manicotti with. I also add Italian seasoning(1 TBSP), garlic powder(1/2 tsp), onion powder(1/2 tsp), fresh cracked pepper(1 tsp), and just a little sea salt(pinch). I mix that up well. Once the sausage is browned and cooled, I mince half of it and also add that to this cheese mixture. For a binder I mince up mozzarella and put it into this stuffing mixing very well.

IMG_6656.JPG
IMG_6660.JPG
IMG_6662.JPG

I then delicately by hand stuff each shell and place them in an oven safe dish which I have pre sauced the bottom and sides. (Have your oven preheated to 350°F) Add the remainder of sausage and sauce.

IMG_6663.JPG
IMG_6664.JPG

I bake covered at 350°F for 30 minutes. Remove cover, spread mozzarella over the top and return to oven for 15 minutes or until cheese is golden brown. Hint: I finish it off with the broiler! Like a pizza.

IMG_6665.JPG
IMG_6666.JPG
IMG_6667.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center