Paying to Cook Your Own Dinner

image


Hey guys! I went to one of my favourite yakiniku restaurants last night and I thought I'd like to share my experience.


image

image


This is Junetso Horumon. A small yakiniku restaurant about half an hour (by foot - because I can't afford a car) from my place. Even from outside, you can smell the fantastic aroma only freshly grilled meat has. I guess that works to their advantage because it has never failed to convince me everytime!

The term yakiniku refers to grilled meat dishes, usually prepared bite-sized and cooked over gridirons or griddles over wood charcoal. It was originally coined by a Japanese writer named Kanagaki Robun in the Meiji Period. Today, it is widely popular both in and outside Japan.


image

Their prices are quite reasonable considering the good ambiance, service and food choices that they have. A single serving of short ribs costs ¥490 or about $4 while a serving of beef's loin costs ¥690 or about $6.

Everything is in Japanese in the restaurant but you can also request for an English version of their menu as pictured above.


image

Being the carnivore that I am, I ordered the following: boneless short ribs, short ribs, beef's loin, chicken skin, pig's liver and some shitake mushrooms.

You only have wait about 5-8 mins before you can feast on your self-cooked spread. Be sure to dip generously in their home-made soya sauce and steak sauces because it makes a world of difference!


image

For dessert, I had a simple vanilla ice cream on wafers just to clear the palate. And to wash them all down, a huge double-pint of beer (¥750 or $6.50) did the trick.


image

image


Cheers!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center