Grated CoConut Cake || “Indonesian Coconut & Sticky Rice Cake Recipe” (Wingko Babat)

4bm4pyxc5q.jpg


Wingko Babat is one of the Indonesian traditional desserts made from mixture glutinous rice flour, grated coconut and coconut milk.
What brought me comes up with the idea of making this cake was because I’ve got called from an Indonesian friend yesterday, we were talking about those oriental foods and cake that we had earlier last year when I was in Jakarta, I remembered one of my friend always drives us in the morning for those street breakfast food, we have a favorite Wingko Babat cake spot, sometimes we had to drive early in the morning, otherwise those cake would be gone by 8am in the morning.
After talking to my friend, I’m so craving!imagine eating those cake.
And yupe!! No choice, I have to make it myself.


5ai8qxy7cj.jpg


I’ve never thought that I would ever made this cake by myself, and after I googled some online recipes, I found out that is so easy to make, seriously! Just mix everything into a smooth batter, pour it into aluminum pan or cake pan and bake until cooked.

As a coconut lovers, I’m so nuts about this desserts.


6wzjsyxfmi.jpg

For all the ingredients, they are so easy to find in any store. Most of these ingredients I bought them from Walmart, glutinous rice flour and frozen shredded coconut are easier to find in any store this time already.

e4vhmnq908.jpg


As always I like to post following pictures and instructions in most of my recipes and also some instant instructions at the end of my blog, because some people don’t really like reading too much and prefer to just get to the recipe.

ohkohkv34k.jpg

Starting with place the dry ingredients in a big mixer bowl,
And whisk all together.

k91adyu85o.jpg


Continue with adding one by one wet ingredients.

lmijeg5h3e.jpg

First wet ingredient I add in a tbsp of butter, then I mix them well before I add in the next wet ingredients.


jq662e7wdq.jpg

Next, add in vanilla extract.
Mix them well.


k5ohl0twfr.jpg

And...add in coconut milk, for some people they just like to add in all at the same time.
But for me, I’d prefer to add in a bit by bit, and mix it slowly, isn’t a big deal though.


f9rodfrwsy.jpg

Last, add in an egg.
mix well until become smooth batter.

ogzawsozkt.jpg


ok,
finish with the batter.
Get ready the aluminum pan, pan cake, or dish bake. You can neither use one of them and line it with parchment paper.

b5fg5pcfsw.jpg


291uqo0n1q.jpg

Pour the batter into the aluminum pan.

hv60i50a2b.jpg


u622qtyzat.jpg

Brush it with egg yolk all over.


lrzb7brguc.jpg

Then, sprinkles them with some sesame seeds all over.
And... ready to get in to the oven! 😁


78w5mro7m6.jpg

Bake at 350 degress F for about 50 minutes.


rjdsgnt2ze.jpg

The cake is ready to serve! 😋


INGREDIENTS

For the Batter:

  • 200 g glutinous rice flour
  • 200 g shredded coconut
  • 200 ml coconut milk
  • 90 g sugar
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 egg

For the Topping:

  • 2 tbsp sesame seeds
  • 1 egg yolk

INSTRUCTIONS:

  • Turn on the oven to 350 degrees F.
  • Whisk together all the dry ingredients, (glutinous rice flour, sugar, shredded coconut).
  • Add in all the wet ingredients one by one, starting from butter, vanilla extract, coconut milk and egg. Mix them well.
  • Get ready the aluminum pan/cake pan line with parchment paper.
  • Pour the batter into the aluminum pan/cake pan evenly.
  • Brush with the egg yolk on top of it (all over) and then sprinkles with sesame seeds (all over).
  • Bake in the oven for about 50 minutes.

Enjoy!

Xoxo

eliklxnhxj.jpg


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments