Quinoa burger for dinner


Homemade Quinoa Burger

Hello everyone I hope you are all having a good week. It’s already hump day so not too long to go before the weekend. I didn’t get around to posting last night dinner as my little one is currently teething and she was quite grumpy. Today is not better but I have my husband working from home and it kind of ease off things for me a little.

Anyone had a chance to read @tomekkk post on his visit to Yarra Valley’s chocolaterie. If you haven’t, have a read very interesting. Also for those in teamaustralia don’t forget to read @choogirl round up of the different activities happening within the steemit community down under.

Of late with my family we have been trying to eat healthy and cut down on sugar and fatty stuffs - at least a few days a week. While going through the local supermarket magazine I came across this nice recipe for a quinoa burger. I was reticent at first given that my husband didn’t enjoy quinoa as a replacement to rice last time we tried but last night burgers were a real success. Even Lorelai enjoyed the patty!

You don’t need a lot of ingredients to make the burgers and the step by step process is really easy to follow as well. I followed the recipe to the letter but manage to add a couple of fresh chillies to it. If you do try it maybe try adding some coriander to the recipe - I know I will next time I attempt this dish again.


Quinoa as we know it!

I used the following ingredients to make the patty: white grain quinoa, rolled oats, plain flour, grated parmesan cheese, grated carrots, sliced spring onions and 2 eggs. Mix everything together in a big bowl and season (salt and pepper) to your choice.


Mixing the ingredients can be great fun


The patties can be any size or shape

Once combined all you need to do is to shape the mixture into small patties (or big ones) and fry them over medium high heat with olive oil. I served the patties with brioche rolls (it taste better than hamburger rolls) accompanied with lettuce, tomato chutney, mayonnaise and pickled green tomatoes and sliced chillies obviously.


Fry 3 mins each side

I hope you enjoy it.

Bon appétit!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center