Ube Snacks in the Philippines

Hey, Steemers. I recently mentioned the fact that I love ube ice cream. It's the purple stuff on top of my unmixed halo-halo, which is beautifully shown here.

Ube is what we call purple yam or Dioscorea alata in the Philippines, and it's used in all sorts of stuff: ice cream, cake, smoothies...you name it. The treats shown above are made of ube, and they're good - sweet, soft, and sort of chewy. They're sold out by the road. Here's @awesomenyl buying some. (It was getting dark already.)

The first picture ontop doesn't do their color any justice; these things are purple.

Here they are naked. ;-)

Anyway, if you ever come out to the Philippines and come across these ube snacks, give 'em a try! And if you don't like 'em, well...I'd ask you to throw 'em my way, but I've got plenty already.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center