Current mood: Mango-loving mood.

Current mood: Mango-loving mood.

Song playing on repeat: "Craving" by Wizkid. Fits my current insatiable desire for mangoes even after having it.

source


One of my love languages is Mango. Mango in any thing, any way and any form. Mango juice. Mango jam. Mango cake. Mango ice-cream especially and no, I don't need to search for it across stores because this baby girl can make any ice-cream she wants. Just say mango, I'm showing up to your house.


Last year, I tried my hands on mango rice, not mango sticky rice. I'll be trying the sticky one soon. The sweet mango I used made it really nice.

Quick breakdown of how I prepared my own mango rice because those YouTube people almost killed me.

  1. Simply, boil your rice and sieve the water when it gets soft but not too soft you get?

  2. Use a different pot to fry/mix your spices or ingredients like you will prepare fried rice but with little or no curry. Add a good quantity of grated ginger and grated unripe mango. This gives it an exotic flavor when you're done and a tangy taste.

  3. Pour your mixed ingredients into the rice pot and mix until everything blends. Taste till it makes sense. If it doesn't, you know what to do or you throw the entire pot away and start again.

  4. Pour your already blended or pureed mango into the pot alongside the rice and turn till it blends. Do this bit by bit so you can control the taste of the rice. Do this after the rice is no more on fire. You're not cooking the mango. 😉

  5. Dish your rice on a plate and top it with anything you want like plantain, chicken or fish. I'll say fry these. But no goat meat, plix.

MANGO SLICES

source

INGREDIENT

  1. Rice of course
  2. One unripe mango and Ripe mangoes. One is grated, the others blended or pureed.
  3. Ginger as priority.
  4. Red and yellow pepper (for color sturves and scent)
  5. Chicken or fish. No goat meat, plix.
  6. Spices and other sere sere you love
  7. Because you are a Nigerian, add plantain. Fry it any shape or anyhow.
  8. Any thing more as the spirit or your village people leads, depending on your LGA)

Another option is cooking your rice, fried rice or jollof style and then topping it with your pureed/blended mango like you will with a stew or sauce. Make it mango sauce. Heaven!


Last Saturday in Uyo at the Digiclan meetup, Ized Uanikhehi reminded me of the times I used to share seasonal fruits, especially the ones found in Akwa Ibom on my timeline. I miss sharing those too so I am back to it.
The fruits in this picture include;

Picture 1: Grade two mango (I eat just the inside but I was amazed recently that people eat the skin too)

source

Picture 2: very ripe star fruit and wild guavas.

source

Picture 3: Grade one mango. (I eat this one with its skin and this particular one in the basin were large mangoes)

Picture 4: mango rice with mango sauce and fried plantain & orange/mango juice.

MANGO RICE

[Isn't God amazing? Giving us so much heaven to dig into. My soul sings]
P.s. I have a testimony and I am still debating whether to share it or not but yesterday was something else. I'll be back here. I owe God this.

I hope you have a great weekend and celebration. I wish you all an abundance of peace, joy and love, everything beautiful. God bless you all, abundantly and exceedingly.

#MangoLover.
#SeasonalFruits.
#FoodLover.
P.S. EAT WELL, EAT HEALTHY .
#MyloveMypassion.
#InLoveWithSteemit
IF YOU LOVE IT UPVOTE AND COMMENT .
I LOVE THIS COMMUNITY .

follow me for more tips.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center