Italian Market In Bayville

IMG_20231216_115716223_HDR.jpg

In their current location for about four months according to our waitress, Cucina Fresca moved just down the road on Route 9 in Bayville, New Jersey, from their previous location. While the highlight is definitely the bakery, the rest of the place is also exciting for lovers of Italian food, from their fresh meats right on through their jarred Sunday Gravy. It brought back many memories of my Sunday visits to my Aunt's house in the Bronx.

However, I was even more delighted to see that you can eat there as well. I always drank Ginger Ale at my Aunt's house as a child, so it was no surprise to anyone when I grabbed a bottle to have with my sandwich. On the menu, the sandwiches are presented with two prices, The lower price signifies eating your choice on a hard roll, wrap, or other regular sandwich bread, while the higher price is the traditional hoagie.

I ordered the Sicilian, which is fried eggplant, roasted peppers, fresh mozzarella, arugula and extra virgin olive oil. There was also a side of pickles. Unlike some sandwich places, you could tell everything on the bread was fresh. The eggplant was cut thin, but plentiful, with the most amazingly light breading. Each bite was like a party in my mouth. I should also note that my better half joined me for lunch and had the Classic French Dip. She loved it and believe me when I tell you that she is an expert on this type of sandwich. One of the problems I have with provolone is that when purchased from a regular supermarket, it tends to have the consistency of American Cheese. Not the one in the French Dip though because it tasted and smelled like the fresh provolone you buy by the block. This was not only a great find, but I couldn't leave without bringing home a few items from the bakery.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now