Going Back To The 50s

IMG_20220528_153246.jpg
Visiting Lancaster, I came upon a wonderful find for lunch. Located at 2410 Old Philadelphia Pike in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, I happened to try a place that took me back to the 1950s. While I wasn't born early enough to enjoy that particular era, DJ's Taste Of The 50's reminded me of those movies and television programs that were based in that era.
The place was originally supposed to open in June of 2008 but many delays occurred involving the design of the business and code compliance. The biggest problem was a four ton boulder that was embedded in their landscape. That boulder now sits behind the restaurant to signify the faith that was needed to open this eatery and is also designed to be used as an area of prayer for anyone who needs to talk to God.

IMG_20220528_145215.jpg
Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, DJ's sports a very extensive menu. Of course, burgers, fries, shakes and sundaes are their specialties. I enjoyed a Cranked Burger, which contained sauteed mushrooms and onions and your choice of cheese. I chose American. In addition, I drank a Chocolate Egg Cream, taking me back to my days in the Bronx. Not only was the food tasty, but the ambiance was at another level.
All varieties of Salads and Rockin' Sandwiches were available to order. There was a Fred N' Ethel, which was a 1/2 cold deli sandwich with cheese, lettuce, mayo, tomato and a choice of bread or toast. Included with your sandwich is a cup of soup and chips. Your choice of sandwich included Chicken Salad, Tuna Salad, Ham Turkey or Bacon. In keeping with this theme, there was also a Lucy N' Ricky available, which was a serving of Homemade Macaroni & Cheese with Stewed Tomatoes and a slice of Grilled Bread.
Another interesting item on the menu was the Layin' Rubber Sampler, which was a build-your-own sliders platter with chicken tenders, onion rings, french fries, mozzarella sticks, corn fritters, 1/2 cheese quesadilla and cheese curds. They occasionally host a Sock Hop and a Corn Hole Competition. Needless to say, I will have to visit this place again on my next trip to Lancaster because there is so much I want to try.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now