RE: RE: Let's Talk Food: Steam Seafood Dinner in Hong Kong
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's Talk Food: Steam Seafood Dinner in Hong Kong

RE: Let's Talk Food: Steam Seafood Dinner in Hong Kong

I am always so surprised to see corn on Chinese menus! In the U.S., we think of sweet corn as something that Americans enjoy, but somewhat of a "common" vegetable that we don't expect other places in the world would appreciate. Nice fresh sweet corn is delicious, but the canned variety is pretty terrible.

Do I also see kabocha squash on that plate? This is basically identical to what we call "buttercup" here in the U.S. It has always been my dad's absolute favorite, and we grew it every year in our garden growing up. My parents always just steamed and mashed it with butter. As an adult, I had it as part of a tempura platter for the first time - wow!

I love Asian food and can't wait to see your other posts!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center