Holiday Meat Pie

This holiday season I decided to make meat pie, or tortierre, as it's commonly called in Canada. I found a recipe that looked simple enough, and since I already have some frozen homemade pie crust, I was good to go.

image.jpeg

2 small potatoes, finely diced, 1 medium onion, 3 cloves of garlic, and 1.5 pounds of ground beef (or a mixture of beef, pork or other ground meat)

image.jpeg

Now the holiday spice mix... 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp celery seed, 1/4 tsp ground clove, 1/8 tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp nutmeg

image.jpeg

Add 1/2 cup of water and cook all together for about 20 minutes.

Then I drained the excess grease and put the meat mixture into the fridge overnight.

image.jpeg

The next morning I rolled out the crusts and made the pie.

image.jpeg

Added the top crust and baked at 400 degrees for 45 minutes.

image.jpeg

Many people like to smother it with ketchup, but I prefer it with my homemade spiced chutney.

I love trying new recipes, especially when they turn out as delicious as this one!

Thanks for looking, and I hope you try this yourself.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center