Training update, fatigue vs. intensity

Here's yesterday's ride from TrainingPeaks:

May8_Ride.jpg

One thing that I really notice after so many years away from racing is that hard efforts leave me really wasted. I had 3-4 efforts yesterday where I really pushed and the 7+ minutes above 267 Watts left me knackered for the day, even more so than I get after multi-hour steady efforts. So I just have to dose those out carefully. The purple color band you see is the 234-266W range, to give you some idea where I'm climbing at (my FTP is 205). Then there's that one minute hard effort at the very end where I drain the tank and hold about 420 Watts for the 50-60 seconds, and that kills me. So it's fun to watch races like the Giro (happening now in Italy) and seeing guys tap out 350 Watts for hours on end in a breakaway...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now