Tragedy at Noon (Fiction)

Michael Jackson's "Speechless" blasted off my phone's speakers... It was my ringtone, yet I took some seconds to move my body in rhythm to its beat. I wasn't sure if I'd ever get used to that particular song.
When I checked my phone screen I was rather shocked to see that it was my mum's number.

FB_IMG_16312973581158914.jpg

I took a moment to think. I just left home today, or did I forget anything at home?
I answered the call and was greeted with a sobbing voice. "your dad is dead" was the only thing by brain could process before my phone fell from my trembling hands.

My gaze darted immediately to the wad of cash lying on my table. My dad had given it to me after dropping me off at the motor park earlier today. "No!" I shouted, my dad can't be dead. Not now, not ever. I quickly checked the time, it was 5.12pm. I jumped up and quickly left my room. I was going home, the time be damned.

Surprisingly, It didn't take long for me to get home. The sight that met my eyes cleared the remaining dredges of doubt I had. My mom sat on a low chair in the balcony. One look at her face told that she had been crying for a while. "So", I thought to myself, "I wasn't going to see my father alive again?"
Before I could remind myself I was a man, fat drops of tears made their way out of my eyes as my mind became flooded with the memories I had with my dad. Yes, they were going to remain just memories now.

I quietly called one of my sisters and asked her the hospital he was in. Moments later, I was being led into the morgue. The attendant pointed to his body and stepped back, granting me the privacy I needed. I couldn't bring myself to look at his face, yet. So I started from his feet. Here, lied a hero in all his glory. Yes, even at death, my dad would remain to me, a hero. As I was about to lock gazes with his now lifeless face, I woke up...

It was just a dream, yet beads of perspiration dotted my face and my eyes had traces of tears.

download (6).jpeg

It took me a moment to realize that it was my phone's ringtone which brought me back from dreamland. I checked the time as I picked up my phone. It was 5:12pm and the caller was my mother!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now