RULES ARE FOR BREAKING.

image

Marilyn got into MR NICE'S eatery that evening where Dave was seated already

Her scent was just cool everyone turned to take a second look at the beauty.
She joined Dave on the table where he sat looking gentlemanly. His alluring smile never left his face.

"Good evening Dave "
"What happened to the name you used to call me? "Bestest" or "Desire" he asked with a devilish grin.
"Let's leave that matter for another day. I'm here. Why did you call me"

He fixed a stare into her eyes and then at her lips and smiled. "Your colleague told me you are inconsistent at work and you need a new job. Why is that?"

"Because it's not a crime to change in a dynamic world like this"

Dave called the waiter, he gave his orders. "Order for whatever you want, Bill's on me" and she did.

They had a couple of drinks and food and snacks and they discussed everything from why the head is still on the neck and why They chosed not to keep their shoes outside. That had always been the nature of their conversation;
crazy and funny. The part of Dave that Marilyn missed so much. "It's getting late, you can sleep in my house tonight My Love" Dave proposed. "I need a Job Dave not a lodge. I have my own house"

"But you didn't tell me you needed food too. It's why I'm here baby, Bills' on me. He said. Was that supposed to be a joke? She had an aura for detecting thoughts and was always very meticulous about words.

"wow" she nodded with an ingenuine smile which widened into a grin.. "Excuse me, I need to use the rest room" she rose up and dropped her phone on the table but went with her purse. She walked over to the counter. "How much is the bill? She whispered "I want to surprise him, it's his birthday"

#7,500 MA" She paid, walked into the rest room and out back to where Dave was, she adjusted her gown and sat down with a smile on her face.
They discussed for a while "Waiter" Dave called "How much is the bills?"

"Madam has paid already Sir" he confirmed with a smile and ambled away.
Dave couldn't just stop smiling.
"what's that supposed to mean? I could have paid"

"I need a job, but not a lodge nor food. I'm a woman but I can feed myself, you know these things, you can't come and frustrate my career and my life" she said with a fake smile. "See why it's important to get a job as a woman? No one insults you.
Uhmm but I need a ride to my house, hope you don't mind" she got up and walked out, Dave followed. *******

Earlier that day.

.......Marilyn was a carefree, beautiful and an absolutely crazy girl in her early 20s. A girl who'd never agree to be ensconced behind a counter.

That crispy Friday morning was a different day for Merry-d-lean girl, the way her friends preferred to call her. She looked so round and succulent like she'd bend into any shape if you squeezed her.

Marilyn had been thinking so much that Friday morning - the urgent need to get a new job, a new apartment, meet new people, make new friends, get new memories and erase old ones if she could.
Her attempt was to run far away from Dave; the guy she'd been in a relationship with for three beautiful years.
There was an upsurge of bitterness and anger whenever she remembered the way he looked, so carried away the day he kissed Caroline her best friend.
She dipped her head into her palms and tried to rub off the pain on her forehead.
She exhaled witfully as she noticed a beam of light on her phone. "ah ah! Have I missed a call? "she muttered as she stretched her hand to pick the phone "Orh, 2 missed calls already. It's well "..
The screen went blank and black, she knew a call was coming in...
She looked, her heart skipped. It was Dave.
"You can't escape the love of a good guy" the word replayed in her head..
That was Jenny's favorite line whenever Dave called..

Again she exhaled, this time longer.
She looked outside the office through the window,
The scorching Sun was shining overhead. And the streets rippled with the blaring noise of drivers hooting their horns.
An happy relationship is just an illusion she believed.

She sneered, a feeling of anger mixed with Love. She picked the phone, touched the blinking green icon on the screen and swiped down.
"Hello, good morning " she blurted trying to hide the mixed feelings.
"My love, ndisuk mmama fi nkan Edita iyak " (I'll always love you more than fried fish) I he praised in Efik

There was a grim on her face and then a sneer. "How are you" Dave enquired.
"I'm fine thank you "
There was a shush
"You don't sound like you're fine" he sounded like he cared.

"That's a really crazy question to ask now. Don't you think so"? She could tell Dave was smiling..

She wanted him to get really angry instead.
"It's not my fault. We live in a crazy world". "Let's meet by 5pm at Mr NICE, Mayne Avenue by Atakpa" we really need to talk please"
She knew she wanted it, she knew but it wasn't easy to say yes..
. "uhmm NO, i'll be..." she was interrupted
"I know you'll be having headache but please I can't take no for an answer, I'm too frenzy now, please don't change it. I'll get you drugs".
Damn, he always had his way of making her fall.


They finally got to Marilyn's apartment. It was well furnished, just the way she loved it.. Indescribably unique

"Thanks for paying the bills"
And she turned to say whatever...
He held her on her waist, closing the distance. The feeling so heady and hypnotic, she remembered the good old times and she closed her eyes like she was thinking but she knew what she wanted.
A kiss she wanted and a kiss she had.

"I thought I'll never see nor kiss you again " Dave said with a smile.
"why"
"because you said So" "I'll never hurt you anymore My girl".
"What are rules if they can't be broken. Let's break the rules. I'll kiss you again but you'll sleep here tonight " she smiled and locked the door.
~fin

Iam, @jasladin.
Kindly upvote and comment freely

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now