Challenge #04291-K273: A Chance at Mortal Redemption

tom-barrett-7FNOH-qSxMI-unsplash.jpg

A very old angel, and an ancient demon, both sat together talking, watching the peoples. Seeing how the humans treat the children born to them simply for looking like their ancient ancestors, saddened them.
"Even we demons know this is wrong."
They are human and have free will.
"Doesn't mean it's not wrong."
In that, at least, we very much agree. -- Anon Guest

[AN: Reminder that I am trying my soul to whispers in keeping my stories OUTSIDE of fandom spaces. This is sorely tempting to do a Good Omens riff.]

"I thought this reincarnation business was meant to be a second chance for the new soul," said the demon. "It's not working out so well, is it?"

"It is the nature of evil to gloat before its downfall," sighed the angel. "New systems require adjustment phases. This is merely an adjustment."

The demon watched a bunch of kids chase a young reincarnation of Adolf Hitler down the footpath. "An adjustment. Hm! Doesn't seem right. They're leading to the same mistakes. Over and over and over again."

"They're also in an age with the highest possible documentation of personal experiences. They will learn," insisted the angel.

"This is the fifth time people have abused reincarnated Hitler," said the demon. "Hell couldn't possibly think of worse tortures. We just don't have the originality."

"Watch," smirked the angel, pointing to another child.

Reincarnated Saint Francis stepped between the bullies and reincarnated Hitler. Shielding the latter with his body. "We are not called upon this earth again to make the same crimes as our previous lives. We are called again to live a better life and have a better chance. Brothers. Sisters. Can we help this one brother find a better path without resorting to violence?"

"He'd better find a better path," grumbled one among the bullies.

"Only if we help," insisted reincarnated Francis.

The bullies left, and reincarnated Francis helped reincarnated Hitler up. "I think you should meet my friend Leo. He's really good at drawing."

There is little more smug than an angel who knows they're right.

[Photo by Tom Barrett on Unsplash]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends! Or visit my hub site to see what else I'm up to.

Send me a prompt [42 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now