Challenge #04186-K168: Calculated Risk

bozhin-karaivanov-dfuO6_b1Eko-unsplash.jpg

They warn knomiras time and again not to touch the pretty plants. And, yet again, they get to deal with complaining and screaming while treating injured hands. -- Anon Guest

Some exhibits are a nightmare. The slow-moving cruise vessels housing them are literally made for the exhibits. Kept in excellent condition by the crew and staff. It's not the exhibits that are the problem. It's the people who pay to share the experience presented.

"I paid to see these plants," insisted the current problem. "I paid premium. In advance. You have no right to turn me away based on some... stupid word salad."

Said word salad included terms like 'toxic', 'pathogens', and 'airborne particles'. It also included terms like 'avoid physical contact' or 'stay behind the yellow line' as well as frequent uses of 'for your own safety'. There were no words in there that an Alliance citizen with an average education could not understand. The doorkeeper on the admissions desk checked the metadata with their ticket. Oh. Oh shit. They were a Deregger.

Therefore, this particular customer knew their rights and would resist any and all attempts to maintain their safety and wellbeing.

In a sincere effort to prevent trouble, the doorkeeper said, "Please enjoy the dangerous plants exhibit, and be sure not to get too close to the Dangerous Plants."

Which resulted in scoffing and denial. "There's no need to be condescending with me. They're plants! How dangerous can they be?"

They'd get their answer in less than five minutes. The doorkeeper was on record as warning them and assigned a Medik to be on call for the inevitable ignoring of the exhibits. The in-exhibition cameras would record everything for the education of others.

There would be a supercut of people like this knomira, including the warnings, the wilfull ignorance, and the inevitable fallout.

No matter what they did, there was going to be a lawsuit.

[Photo by Bozhin Karaivanov on Unsplash]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends! Or visit my hub site to see what else I'm up to.

Send me a prompt [75 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now