Challenge #04123-K105: Fel Fiancee

sarah-penney--6nDec_KT7U-unsplash.jpg

The letter was written as Wraithvine suggested, the princess visiting the new young, very nervous, king. It's good to make friends one's own age to talk to.
@internutter/challenge-03978-j326-fel-fortunes -- Fighting Fit

King Kosh was apparently a tight-fisted monarch. Not spending very much on appearances, pomp, nor circumstance. The Princess Optimism Caibanise Ayoka Whitekeep arrived on horseback, in travelling leathers, and had an Elven 'grass' blade at her hip for defence. Her staff were similarly equipped.

Only her papers and her heraldric ring verified her identity. She carried herself with the confidence of someone who knew how to hold her own in a fight. A fact soon proven true by the first of many would-be assassins sent after Ozarkas.

Her father was a Master of the Art of Shadows, and had taught all his children very well.

Princess Optimism was practical, pragmatic, economical, and had inherited her father's sharp wit and quick tongue. Which she readily employed against the would-be graspers and vile flatterers aiming to be the power behind the crown.

The people didn't know who to admire.

"There is a protection against the Teufel Terror," Optimism announced. "I have brought with me the means and method. It's most efficacious amongst the young, but it can aid all other survivors.

Prince Ozarkas was the first to take it in a public ceremony. Thus enforcing the people's faith in him. As well as the protection measure. He did insist on spreading the word amongst what passed for the Hellkin community.

That helped immensely with his good reputation. Well. It certainly made it better.

It couldn't have got much worse.

In the midst of Leadership Lessons, the young Prince told the young Princess about his pitiful education, treatment, and exposure to the real world - or lack thereof.

"Your father sounds like my grandfather. Valiant the Mad. Now there was a piece of work. Sent Dad off to the other side of the world almost the instant he had a Human heir. All he needed was an excuse. He never got any better with age." A roll of her amber eyes indicated her opinion of that member of her family. "Some people are best left forgotten."

Ozarkas rubbed his right horn, running his fingers over the space where a disguise charm used to hang. "I think I was lucky to be hidden... but I still have nightmares of the charm failing or falling off."

"My recent adventures helped me understand that kind of fear," said Optimism. "Understand, but... not feel. Dad made certain we could all carry our own if it came to hostility."

"Teach me?" Ozarkas begged.

They fell in love over crossed swords and discussions of tactics. And married after an election that showed the public's preference for Optimism.

[Photo by Sarah Penney on Unsplash]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends! Or visit my hub site to see what else I'm up to.

Send me a prompt [82 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center