Challenge #04087-K069: Safe With a Monster

annie-spratt-yIXaGmBMNqM-unsplash.jpg

Mr. Human, I'm scared, what if the scary ones catch us?
Mr. Sunshine looks calmly to the child.
"Don't worry, I will teach them how to be.... nicer, later. I won't let them ever hurt you again." -- Anon Guest

Pax Humanis doesn't always go after humans. There are cogniscent rights violations amongst all species. And some interventions include... rescues.

Mr Sunshine wasn't entirely cleared for a Parenting license, but he did have special permission under exigent circumstances to be a temporary caregiver. Finding a child in a cage definitely qualified.

He released the tiny avian and provided enough food and warmth to settle his nerves. Mr Sunshine introduced himself as a member of Pax Humanis, and that he was there helping the CRC. Since the child took priority, his next move was to get them both to his lair.

Which was, Mr Sunshine had to admit, something of a journey. The worst people in civilisation always seemed to have the best and tightest security. Getting out was just as troublesome as getting in.

Only once they were outside the main compound did Foundling Mai speak. "Mister Human sir?"

"Sunshine," corrected Mr Sunshine. "What do you need to know?"

"What if they find us? What if they catch us?"

"You don't need to worry, little one. I can teach them better manners. I'm very effective."

Once he got Mai safe into his lair, the child said, "I like you. You're scarier than the scary people, but you're nice."

"Thank you," said Mr Sunshine. He showed the child where he could get food and edutainment. "I should not be long, but if something happens, this vessel will return to the CRC ship observing this area. The people there will help you."

"Nothing's going to happen," said Mai. "You're better at scary than they are."

[Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends! Or visit my hub site to see what else I'm up to.

Send me a prompt [96 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center