Challenge #03932-J280: A Drop in the Bucket

daniele-levis-pelusi-QHSuZvRUZXY-unsplash.jpg

I'm violent, but I don't kill. I'm Pax Humanis, but I've never taken a life. My job is different. I'm a teacher. My methods are brutal, I've brought more than one of MY type of... student to the brink of death, but never killed them. They eventually learn though. It's an ugly job, but these b--rds need to learn, humans are NOT property, and are NOT to be treated as disposable. -- Anon Guest

So many think that Pax Humanis wades in blood. I do that too, but I don't enforce things to the death. They can't learn if they die. If I want them to learn, they have to survive the process.

I am a teacher, and one of the lessons I teach is that there are things that are far worse than merely dying.

Dying is too easy. Living is difficult. I can make it even more difficult for them. So difficult that they beg for death. The body is a canvas, and my brushes include blood, scars, and bruises. But there's more torments than merely brutalising a human body.

Pressure, and lack thereof, can do amazing things. The Bends, for example. Or gradually lowering the air pressure in a chamber until the student gasps for air and is close to passing out. A rapid return to normal pressure is just as damaging.

And then there's perflurocarbon. It's wonderful for slow terror.

The student is in a position where moving is, at least, difficult. In my earlier days when budget was a concern, I had them strapped to a table with a special helmet for the fluid. These days, I have a little chamber that is just big enough to stand in. It heightens the experience.

Imagine. Being held so still that you can't escape. Or in a place it's impossible to escape. Then a fluid starts filling your space. You can see it. You can feel it. It gets closer and closer to your mouth and nose. You know you're going to drown...

They always try to hold their breath. They always hold it until they can't hold it any more.

They always panic when the perflurocarbon floods their airways. They're always sure they're going to die.

They tell me that they feel like they're drowning.

And when they get used to the idea that they can breathe? That's when I drain the perflurocarbon from the chamber.

I'm told that it's worse than drowning, as the fluid in the lungs evaporates. The body fights it like it fights water in there. Coughing, choking, retching... all of the terrible things.

They do these things to themselves. I just help them along.

What else do I teach? History. Specifically, the lessons they refused to learn before I came along. Until they reform? They will be doomed to repeat them.

[Photo by Daniele Levis Pelusi on Unsplash]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends!

Send me a prompt [75 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center