Challenge #03581-I292: Weighted Memories

alora-griffiths-zEAX0E0KJxs-unsplash.jpg

Other than times on official duty, our human often wears a backpack with small, but very heavy, metal balls. Especially when they were on the small exercise area set up for them that included some treadmills, exercycles, and other equipment. We wonder, why burden themself like that while exercising, especially since it's a normal 1 grav environment already? -- Anon Guest

Humans, it is widely known, are strange. Human Xia is stranger than most. When not on duty, she purposely weighs herself down. We, the Companions and crew of the Flesther Kaiju[1] are befuddled by the habit.

Whenever she "works out", she wears weighted wristbands, anklets, and a pack. Each full of heavy metal spheres that serve no other purpose. She wears them whilst running. She wears them whilst cycling. She wears them whilst repetitively lifting other weights. It is not for bone strength, since the ship is a single Standard Gravity[2] for the comfort of all.

There should be few circumstances in which practicing for stronger gravity would be useful. Or so we presumed.

I, Companion Vuk, requested permission to ask a rude question.

Human Xia, busy with one of her "reps" answered in the affirmative.

"Why do you weigh yourself down between duty cycles? It seems an unnecessary measure."

Xia put her weights down, and doffed a weighted bracelet. With permission, she lifted me with one hand and little effort.

"It's so I can haul at least eight of you and run for the lifepod multiple times and not wear out." She put me down. Put on the bracelet again. "This time, I want to know I did everything a person could do."

I do not wish to enquire about "the last time." Judging by our Human's expressions, it is not a pleasant memory.

[1] Pronounced: kai-you.

[2] One Standard Gravity is roughly equivalent to ten meters per second per second fall acceleration. Terra's gravity is nine point eight meters per second per second fall accelleration. The difference, according to most, is negligible.

[Image by Alora Griffiths on Unsplash]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends!

Send me a prompt [57 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center