Challenge #03262-H353: Positive Reinforcement

canstockphoto306734.jpg

They had raided the ship with a band of pirates. Left behind when the others fled, the humans adopted them and began to teach them a new way. They still had to answer for the crimes they committed, but remanded into the humans' care, they began to learn how to care about others, but, more important, how to be able to care about one's self as well.
@internutter/challenge-02820-g263-you-re-adopted -- Anon Guest

Krez often had the chance to sit back and re-think his life. Why the pirates had bothered with his basic needs when they constantly called him a useless lump. Why they didn't just space him like they constantly threatened to do.

And above all, Krez wondered why the Human Hyu adopted him. That was a long time in unriddling. Simple equations like, "You were alone and needed somebody on your side," were a complete bafflement to Krez.

Then there was the matter of punishment for his crimes. He had been particularly useless in the raids, as his former shipmates were fond of pointing out. Frequently. He had not done very much in the way of looting and pillaging, and never the third part of the famous trio. He was mostly there to fill out the threat and do some heavy lifting. Nevertheless, he was an accessory to the crimes.

Providing insider information about the rest of the pirates' operations helped mitigate his sentence immensely.

There was still therapy, and education in how to be a good Alliance citizen. Krez was, for the first time in his life, praised for his efforts.

He couldn't get over it.

"Therapist Sem said I was making good progress," said Krez for the thousandth time.

"I heard the good news," Hyu was busy with hir meal prep. "Can you help me with the carrots over there?"

Krez automatically grabbed the peeler and a root vegetable. "I am making good progress. Me. But I am making mistakes."

"Mistakes is how we learn," singsonged Hyu. Ze added some spices to the pot.

"Mistakes are evil. They are waste. Just like--"

"Uh-uh," interrupted Hyu. "Positive phrasing about yourself."

"My old family said that I was a waste. I am learning how to contribute my skills to society," Krez chanted.

"Better," Hyu reached into the cache and brought out one of the little treats Krez adored and handed it to him. "Good work."

"I... do... good work... every day," Krez muttered around the morsel. Still trying to grasp the concept.

If he kept repeating it, he may one day believe it.

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / kmitu]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends!

[79 remaining prompts] Please don't send any more prompts for now. Thank you.

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center