Challenge #03011-H088: The Soft Spot

canstockphoto27942299.jpg

Defiant Human: "You can't make me talk! You know damn well how tough we are, so do your damndest I won't break!"
Interrogator: "Are you sure about that?"
Defiant Human: "Try me."
Interrogator: "You asked for it." Calls to their associates who brings out a box of the cutest, most adorable, little fuzzballs on the planet. Several young kids giggle and begin to play with, and cuddle the fuzzballs that coo and burble sweetly.
Human: "What's that supposed to do??"
Human - a few hours later: "Ok, ok enough, I'll talk! I'll talk.. please! Please... just let me pet the furballs already!" -- Fighting Fit

Violence does not work as a means to extract information. Even if the interrogator does know what levels of violence are appropriate for the subject, the odds are that the subject will say anything at all to make the torment stop. This includes what the subject thinks the interrogator wants to hear.

There are less destructive ways to gain information out of an uncooperative subject. Ones that don't leave trauma in their wake. Ones that are effective even against the toughest of the tough. It did require very specific knowledge of what the species in question found tempting.

Humans... are relatively easy. They will pet anything, but they are particularly vulnerable to soft, fluffy, baby animals. Humans have a knack for being able to identify the young of any species and it is astonishing the range of creatures that they find adorable. To that end, Interrogator Zeph employed three larvae from the corporate daycare, and an entire nest of Floffles.

They were behind a currently opaque barrier, and in a very soft and colourful environment whilst the captured Space Marine was strapped to a chair in an otherwise bare and uncomfortable cell. Interrogator Zeph entered the room and activated the recorders. "Human. We would like to know the details of your offensives."

"Fred Jain. Corporal. G297-1412."

Aha. Yes. That old chestnut. The Humans had a long and extensive list of things they weren't allowed to do to each other, and that including limiting prisoner information to name, rank, and serial number."

"Do you have any food allergies?"

"Fred Jain. Corporal. G297-1412."

"We will continue feeding you the non-offensive Human Nutrient Supplement. If I let you loose, will you attempt to hurt me?"

"Fred Jain. Corporal. G297-1412." This time, there was a twisting of the Human's rubbery face. "That's all I'm going to say. Get used to it, buggy."

Interrogator Zeph pressed a button, rendering the barrier clear. Thus allowing Corporal Fred Jain to see the nest of fluffles and the kiddies playing with them.

"Is this supposed to scare me?" scoffed Jain.

"It will convince you," said Zeph.

In less than an hour, Human Jain was begging to be let loose to play with "those fluffy little critters."

That was when Zeph began the questioning, sure that they would get the correct answers.

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / SasinParaksa]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends!

Send me a prompt [55 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center