Challenge #02746-G189: Fearsome Destructive Capabilities

canstockphoto10613549.jpg

Carbon fibre plates, reinforced with a titanium alloy. Hi spec thermal regulator, and military grade ballistic glass. Now I just need the human to stress test this livesuit. -- Anon Guest

"What kind of Human?" said Glorz.

"I'm not sure I understand the question."

"Well, there are the Humans you pay to try and destroy it, there's the Humans you pay to life-test it, and the Humans you pay to try and keep it in top condition. Then there's the fourth if you want to test for unforeseen flaws."

Threp relaxed. This was not a problematic association with varying kinds of Humans, who were sensitive about that kind of thing. This would suggest a series of controlled tests for those specific conditions. "We would not want Humans to life-test a thing without first testing it to the point of hazard[1]." Which, of course, gave rise to warnings that even Livesuits could not help the wearer survive inside the heart of a star or base-diving into a black hole.

After some consideration, Threp said, "We should first test for unforseen flaws. Which Humans should be used to test that?"

"From what I've heard from other Humans? A group of four to six verbal, yet pre-literate Human young."

[1] Humans, once they got hold of the phrase 'test to destruction', took it way too literally.

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / JackF]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends!

Send me a prompt [86 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center