30 SBD prize pool - Rhino Writing Contest #3 REMINDER - Deadline 12-December-2017

When a 10 SBD prize is suddenly worth 130 SBD,

writers might consider whipping out a few hundred or a few thousand words for contest entries.

His name is in my house, on a hard drive, somewhere.



@bex-dk donated $10 SBD toward the prize pool. Two other Fictioneers offered to donate, but I asked them to hold off until Contest #4, because @DJ Mikey Masters [Mikepm74] has offered $20 SBD in prize money.

~ Thank you, DJ Mike Masters, and thank you, Bex! ~



First Prize = $20 SBD

Second Prize = $5 SBD

Third Prize = $5 SBD



The Prompt:


His name is in my house, on a hard drive, somewhere.
Whose name?
How many computers ago - how many years ago - did he last email me?

But that's just one idea. Mull it over. Start writing something. You can't work the wording of the prompt into your story? No problem. Just write - and have fun with it!

Pick your genre. Pick the gender, the identity. (Romance? Thriller? Science Fiction?)

Change "name" to phone number or address or whatever serves your purpose. I am not a stickler for how closely one follows a story prompt. Where does inspiration take you? That's the purpose of the prompt (for me).

Our Fiction Workshop is free, so take advantage of it - enter your contest piece and identify it as such.

I won't lie. I read all the Rhino Contest #2 entries that showed up in the spreadsheet and offered comments on every one of them. No writer got more help or more encouragement from me than another.

Get your nose (pen, keyboard?) to the grindstone -

Deadline

Midnight Tuesday December 12 (CST, EST, I don't watch clocks and calendars)

Results to be announced no later than December 15 (more likely it'll be sooner)

Post the link to your story in the reply section of The Original Contest Post and use the tag fiction contest.

Word limit?

I don't count words. In the ball park of 500 to 1,500 ought to suffice. One entry is around 5,000 words right now, and I would not dismiss it for that reason alone.

Other Rules?

As an experiment, I'm not requiring upvotes and resteems this time, in case that discourages entries.
We'll see what happens.

Judging

Readers, please comment on your favorites. I will take your votes (and reasons) into consideration.

A good story gets attention, but if it's poorly edited, it won't win prizes.

In the end, I will be the final judge.

Have fun--and thank you for all upvote, resteems, contest entries, camaraderie, and support. :-)

Pixabay photos by Pexels

Watch for the coffee icon by a photographer's name when you use royalty-free photos - donate if you can

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency