Emily Wilde's Map of the Otherlands - Heather Fawcett


source

Charming but somewhat slow follow-up, yet it manged to keep the slow pace a pace I could enjoy. Emily Wilde, a socially awkward creature, takes his adventure into the mysterious faerie realms known as the Otherlands. The book expands on faerie lore and the world-building is vivid, but it feels a little bogged down by its pace and a lack of urgency. At times making this feel like a drag to maintain.

Emily’s relationship with Wendell Bambleby, her fae-like colleague, does progress, offering some cute moments of banter and tension, but the romantic and emotional... Mostly I just was not there for it. While I appreciated the cozy, whimsical tone and the faerie myths, it didn’t quite hold my interest throughout.

l love how flirty Wendell is with Emily, got me blushing. I get her not being certain, but it’s obvious she really cares for him.
I think this one had good pacing and more action, which was well-written. It did kind of stall in the middle, but the poisoning provided good urgency and high enough stakes to keep it interesting. Wendell’s step mother was really interesting, I actually hope she’s not dead. I assume we’ll find out more about her brother who helped Wendell.
It’ll be interesting seeing Emily deal with the courtly fae and all of their politicking. I loved the progression of Emily and Wendell’s romance. They have such cute banter and the delay of her acceptance of the marriage proposal added a cute bit of tension. Like you always knew she was going to say yes, but the delay just increased the sweetness for me.

Overall, I found the concept more enjoyable than the execution. It’s a decent read and you get some faire lore for those who are interested in that. Overall, it did not deliver to the potential it had promised.

Coinex

MEXC

XeggeX

Earn Grass Token

Terracore

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center