Children of Dune Frank Herbert


source

This was soo good but like really, I’ve loved each book for different reasons and while I kinda missed Paul and Chani, I really liked the way the story progressed on. I loved the way initially Alia’s wavering thoughts and emotions are portrayed, the way we see her just descend into a completely possessed state from someone who’d been strong but not strong enough. I feel sad that Jessica and Alia never had that relationship where Alia could’ve trusted and relied upon her mum for help. Like even their meet after so long, it’s kinda awkward with Alia wondering and completely distrusting her intentions (and for good reason I know but still). I wish Jessica could’ve been more supportive of Alia as she’d been for Paul or even the twins as we see here. Like she genuinely seemed to care for them. The twins were fantastic. I loooove Ghanima and she felt like a very grounded character to me and perhaps because we’ve already known Alia, their preborn nature wasn’t too hard to comprehend (although that one scene I mentioned earlier did feel kinda weird-ish) but like the twins were like such strong characters, the way Ghanima goes through the hypnosis kinda process to fully believe Leto dead and also Leto escaping all odds and becoming the sandwormy indestructible being and everything. Kinda reminded me of Paul from Dune without too much of his arrogance I can say. Idaho and Alia both self sacrificing for the greater good was also something I’d not expected . Overall the book kinda kept me on my toes because there was so much going on and like it was apparent things would work out but parts like when Alia’s plotting to kill Jessica or Leto being stuck with those Jecu-something (I forgot the name, basically Sabiha’s people) had me rooting for them hard sort of.
I really felt like this book was kinda of a mix of the first two on vibes. It feels like the story has come to an end here, like a full arc’s been completed with Leto being near-immortal kinda ruler.

Coinex

MEXC

XeggeX

Earn Grass Token

Terracore

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center