Are the school holidays over yet?

So it's 14h40, 29 degrees and it's been a DAY of note already, so before I implode or drown myself in our pool, let me write a little ditty......

I am SO very blessed to have 2 gorgeous sons, ages 5 (Gabriel) and ALMOST 12 (Daniyel), especially since I was told I would probably never be able to have children (back in the day) due to my blood meds and the high risk of pregnancy.

In South Africa, our Summer school holidays are 6-7 weeks long from early December to mid/late January, which most would be THRILLED about - I know the kids are!!!

HOWEVER....... Having my own TRAVEL business, which I operate from home, and no living parents, in-laws, grandparents or any siblings or family living close by the Summer holidays...... well, let's say, are a challenge (I'm being very polite and PC in my description). Hubby has a swimming pool company so is on the road doing up to 40 pools a day in Summer from 7am sometimes until after 8pm....

Needless to say I have become a champion multi-tasker, juggler, butler, nurse, entertainer.........chief dish and bottle washer..... you know........

The BIGGEST challenge is keeping them happy and busy every day, without plonking them in front of a screen or game for the entire day, which THEY would do 24/7 if given the chance.... Their tech time is already limited to weekends only for a few hours while school is still open........ Otherwise they become like little agro tech junkies!

So after sorting the house out, the kids, driving around doing errands and shopping, in the heat, and NIGHTMARE that all our malls and shops are at the moment, when I got home to find NONE of the chores done and toys/remotes everywhere, I did the UNTHINKABLE!! I switched EVERY TV, screen and console OFF....... initially they didn't think I was being serious, but Mom has had enough, and banished them outside. They are morphing into little zoned out zombies!

I mean COME ON!!! They have a front AND back garden, with a pool, a neighborhood play park literally across the road, bikes, skateboards and such, but have barely left the house in 3 DAYS..... my parents were LUCKY if they saw us before dinner time when we were kids.......

FINALLY I can START getting some of my work done (let me now speak TOO soon) and they are getting fresh air and out of my hair.......

2 weeks in, and about 4 more weeks to go...........deep breaths.......FB_20151101_00_32_55_Saved_Picture.jpg

I LOVE my boys and family more than life itself, NO question, and they are just being KIDS, so it's kinda their THING to drive their folks nuts.........

I can hear my late Mom's words so CLEARLY - "JUST you wait until you have kids of your own one day" wish she (and dad, who passed when Daniyel was 3) could have met both their BEAUTIFUL grandsons.....

I think after completing my work it's whisky and pool o' clockWho's noodle is it anyway.jpg

Dad & D.jpg

@_--_3Ang_3@_--.jpeg

22315_545095175632955_5341459438545800295_n.jpg

941702_10151460111906766_1650709824_n.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now