Revisiting Afternoon Tea


Afternoon Tea the Right Way


Tomorrow we're going out to celebrate John's birthday on the actual day (as opposed to the parties at the weekend). Since we did afternoon tea on Sunday, this time we'll be going out for lunch.

I need to ask around and see if anyone took a photograph of the afternoon tea that we made on Sunday but, in the meantime, here's one I tried earlier! 😂

One of my Christmas presents from my daughter and son-in-law last year was an afternoon tea for two at 'Cakes the Difference' in Patcham, Brighton.

To make it extra special I decided to take Rebecca as my plus one and after a wonderful tea we spent a couple of hours in town together. This is a rare treat for me since she doesn't have much spare time what with working and having two young kids.

Cakes the Difference serves their afternoon teas much as they were served in the old days, i.e. they serve the sandwiches first and then the cakes. Most places you go to nowadays put the sandwiches on the bottom tier of the cake stand, the cakes on the next and the scones on the top.

We started with . . . ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

4 Different Types of Sandwiches

afternoon tea sandwiches.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

Served on a silver 2-tiered cake stand we had:

cream cheese and cucumber, local smoked salmon, free range egg mayonnaise and free range dry cured ham ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Here is a little taster of the ambience of 'Cakes the Difference'.

afternoon tea cafe.jpg ~ ~

chandelier.jpg

afternoon tea cutlery.jpg

~ ~ ~

afternoon tea table.jpg ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ So there you have the first course. I'll post the cakes in a future post if I can find the photographs! 😂 ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center