The Extraordinary Mind- Escaping the Culturescape

I have been reading the book "The Code of the Extraordinary Mind: 10 Unconventional Laws" by Vishen Lakhian. I have been trying to find a better purpose to my life and from what I have read so far (8 out of 10 laws), this book will help me find it!

The first law is to escape the culturescape. Forget all that we believe to be real and necessary and start fresh. Figure out your own belief system. One example Vishen suggests is that you don't have to follow only one religion. I grew up Catholic, but I went to multiple youth groups with friends from churches that are not Catholic, but other forms of Christianity. Although they all share a similar concept, they had their own way of believing. I like that. I also went to a Lutheran college which required us to take a religion class. I took a Buddhism class and found it very fascinating! So fascinating that I still practice some concepts I learned in the class. I also learned that Buddhism isn't necessarily a religion but a way of life. That made it easier to mesh with Catholicism because the 10 commandments and the Buddhist principles pretty much overlap occasionally. So why not! Vishen is right, there's nothing wrong with combining religion.
Another idea he mentions in escaping the culturescape is to question everything. Question everything you do. Do you like working 9-5? Do you like where you work? What brings you enjoyment? Do your friends have similar beliefs? So many things to think about and question. The cool part about this book is that it's expands past the book. Vishen has a company called mindvalley.com. There, you can expand on what the book talks about with more learning tools and an online forum to ask questions to Vishen or other people that are reading the book. Neat right??

I'll go through a rule a day for 10 days.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center