My Everest Story from 2016

Hello fellow Steemers!

There are two things I am passionate about:

Memory and mountaineering.

I'm not a professional climber by any means, but I am an avid climber and I have had the amazing opportunity to attempt Everest 3 times (still no summit yet... for reasons I'll discuss in upcoming posts) among many other peaks around the world. I wanted to share my 2016 Everest expedition story with you guys. Most of it is in video form, but I'll add some light commentary around the video in this post to add some depth. Thanks for listening/reading/watching!

First and foremost, I climb for my Alzheimer's charity, Climb4Memory. As I trained myself to become a USA Memory Champion, I decided to give back. I had to.... after all, my grandmother passing from the disease is what jumped my interest in memory techniques.

So this was my 3rd attempt on Everest, and I felt strong...I felt as if this time around I was going to be it.

As most South Side Everest expeditions begin, it starts with the long journey to Kathmandu, where the team meets up, bags are packed, and then the interesting journey up the Khumbu Valley to Base Camp commences shortly after! In this video you see me getting to Kathmandu and prepping for the departure to the valley. Enjoy! More segments to follow!

Thanks for your support!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center