Grain-Free Chocolate Cake - a guilt-free dessert

I made this cake recently for my diabetic husband's birthday. It was a real success!
whole_1169.JPG
I started from an online recipe, but by the time I had made all my changes to it, it was a brand new recipe!

Grain-Free Chocolate Cake
Preheat the oven to 350F/180C.

In the top of a double-boiler/bain marie, melt over low heat:
10.5 oz. 75% chocolate (or half baking chocolate/half semi-sweet chocolate chips)
6 oz butter
1/4 cup cream cheese

Remove from heat; allow to cool slightly.
Stir in: 2 teaspoons vanilla
sweetener to taste

Separately, beat until frothy:
6 medium eggs

Stir eggs into chocolate mixture.
Pour into a greased and lined springform pan or loose bottom cake tin. (If you fit the baking paper through the ring of the pan, it will be less apt to leak.)

Bake 20-30 minutes until the cake is just set in the center. Be careful not to overbake.

While cake is baking, make meringue.
Whisk to stiff peaks: 3 egg whites
add a pinch or two of cream of tartar
Sweeten meringue to taste - gently to avoid losing all that air!
(Note: I used the egg whites I had sitting in the fridge, a good deal more than 3!)

On a baking tray, sprinkle:
shredded coconut
Bake 5 minutes or so to lightly toast.

When cake is done, cover gently with the meringue. Sprinkle with toasted coconut.
Return to the oven for another 5-10 minutes until meringue and coconut are golden brown.

My first attempt wasn't quite sweet enough, but we remedied this by adding some chocolate syrup to taste.
I also found it to be delicious with some cream drizzled around the plate.

slice_1171.JPG
(Note: Next time, I will wipe the knife before the second cut - at least for the purpose of pictures!)

All-in-all, it was a complete success!


Lori Aberle Hopkins – photographer at Viking Visual, author, student-of-the-world.
Follow, upvote and resteem me here and on Facebook
Check out my work at: RedBubble, ImageKind, and CafePress.
Camera has changed from time to time, the photographer has not. :-)
Unless otherwise stated, all photos are original to me and © 2008-2018.


 

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center