End of year binge

The blog's been quite a while, life has been full. Started a new FT gig in a startup, scaled back a number of things, found some new devices I wanted to test, and working on building up the work capacity for 2019. It looks like I'm on track to average about 26 days of exercise per month for 2018, a big bump from last few years, so things are trending the right way.

I plan to update more this week as I do a big block of training, my plan is 3 hours per day for 7 days, today through NYE. Four days will be bike only, steady zone 2 / zone 3 work, the other 3 days half riding half lifting. I did a round of Insidetracker blood tests last Friday and I'll do another next week. Here's what I'm using to track during the week -

IMG_0065.jpeg

I'm also getting super strict on the diet this week, loading up on bone broth, meat, more limited fruit and veggies, and really scaling back sugar (not that I consumed a lot of that anyways but I'm really cutting back this week). I've started very tentatively running again, despite my lingering abdominal injury ("sports hernia") which an MRI turned up negative. Last week at the track I jogged 0.25 miles. Yep, that's where I'm at. More on that later. The MRI also indicated a varicocele which turned out to be a false alarm. So yeah, a moderate amount of pain and no clear solution, I'm saying eff it and just doing what I want til the pain gets worse and maybe I'll have better luck wrestling the insurance company (which refused to pay for the MRI, of course).

As part of my work at VivaLNK I got connected with DarioHealth, which does diabetes management, and I got a glocose meter which has been illuminating and has spurred me on to be more disciplined in my once/week fast and also in reducing sugar intake. So that will be part of what I report on.

I'm also working on my pain cave and planning to set up Zwift, so hopefully I'll get around to sharing thoughts on that.

I hope you are all having a very Merry Christmas and getting time to relax and reflect on your 2018, and gear up to make 2019 even better. More later this week as I collect data.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now