CNC Machined Circular Artwork Hand Painted

My most recent artwork installation was once again started on our CNC machine. I wanted to create a circular piece similar to work I had done previously that my client had seen and loved. Sometimes its hard when clients ask me - "can you make that for me?" Obviously I can't replicate artwork that I have promised a previous client is unique and I can let down this new client by saying no. Here is the piece that my client asked my to base their piece on...

DSC06266.jpg

It was a circular motif that filled the wall behind the bed in a hotel suite. Like the new piece it was cut initially on large pieces of ply and then glued together before I painted it by hand. Here I am in our factory floor on a Sunday (when the workers are home and there is peace and quiet)....

S__12009945.jpg

The CNC machine has different size blades that we can programme for different sections, so the piece was made up of different thickness incisions which meant I could use painting techniques to highlight different sections of the design. I think this picture shows quite clearly what I mean....

S__12009939.jpg

Some sections I used a fine paint brush and other parts a sponge or rag.....

S__12009935.jpg

S__12009937.jpg

People often ask me about these kind of symmetrical artworks I create - "what culture is that or "what style is that?. Unfortunately I don't have an answer for them - it's just from my head and if it bears any resemblance to some particular form or style its honestly a coincidence. I really like the way this piece turned out but this is I think the fourth circular piece I have done so I hope I can move away from that for the next few projects.

Screen Shot 2022-01-31 at 16.20.40.png

Here it is finished and installed at the owner's residence. I think it looks pretty nice and the owners were very happy with the result. What do you think readers?

Phustone Villa_044.jpg

Phustone Villa_045.jpg

Phustone Villa_054.jpg

Phustone Villa_059.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now