Bought Our First Air Fryer! - My Initial Thoughts

Good afternoon, Steemians!

My wife and I were looking for a solution to having great tasting food without having to use oil. To be honest, we never used to use much oil, but I feel like lately we have been because we've been buying more frozen potatoes and tostones, etc.

We did some research on different air fryers (the concept is totally new to me and I had heard they were all the rave but never got one) and decided to find one under $100 to buy. We just ran out of cooking oil too, which might've rushed the idea lol.

We eat pretty healthy as it is, but I thought we could take it to the next level if we completely got the oil out of our diets.

Like I said, we researched air fryers online for about an hour and found one at Macy's that was on sale. We were on our way to go pick it up, when we passed Walmart. We agreed to just go in and see what they had. Turned out they only had two.

One was a Farberware with a 3.2 quart capacity for $79.99. The other was an As Seen On TV Power Airfryer. The only differences were this one had a digital interface and a 3.4 quart capacity.

We decided to save the $20 and go with the manual dial Farberware one. (We originally were thinking about a 5.5 quart fryer until I pulled this Farberware one out of the package before buying and thought it a sufficient size for the both of us).

Here she is

IMG_3330.JPG

Guide

IMG_3331.JPG

Easily fit this whole bag of hashbrowns, a can of garbanzo beans, and a whole zucchini squash (with room to spare)

IMG_3332.JPG

Set it to 400 degrees F and turned it to 20 minutes.

IMG_3333.JPG

The handle isn't hot to touch even when the machine is working. You can pop out the basket while it's running and the timer will keep going but the heat element will shut off temporarily (if you need to shake the basket up a bit or add anything. I did both of these things without any problem).

Made nice garbanzo beans kind of toasted, toasted zucchini and the potatoes were definitely done all the way through

IMG_3334.JPG

My initial thoughts: I think this thing has the potential to bring a lot of healthier meals to the table. It's easy to clean and the fact that you don't have to use any oil is pretty neat. For the price I think it's a great deal and it comes with a two year warranty.

The one con I would have to give is that the food seems kind of dry to me (duh, no oil). I guess I am just used to the rice cooker steaming stuff. I definitely won't use this for everything, but for potato wedge/homemade fries, tostones, and just other things that I generally want to avoid using oil with. I'm happy with the purchase so far.

I know a few of you out there probably have one of these. Let me know what kind of things you use it for. Keep in mind we are both vegan :-).

Thanks so much for stopping by, Steemians!

Hansen's Gift.gif

<

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center