Bits that kept me busy lately

Some of them in a very nice way, like this soup I made to enjoy under a glorious sun offering a lovely warm late November day:
DSC_0010.JPG

For the curious ones it's a lentil soup with some "rice" made of chickpeas and red lentils (cool stuff that I discovered lately and boils pretty quick). Of course I always enhance such stuff with goat cheese cubes, garlic and my own organic olive oil.

That's the good part of the day cause the next one is less pleasant - gotta visit my dermatologist. I have a sebaceous cyst that I consider removing cause it has been a pain in the ass over the years. I'll try to spare you the gross details but long story short, this thing has a period of repeating an issue every 4 years or so when it grows stuff under the skin which later gets infected and requires antibiotics to get rid of it. That's what I did the first 2 times but the last one no drug could do any good so I had to operate it. Beyond painful as no anaesthesia was possible due to its infection. Even worse, for the same reason they could only remove the "bad stuff" not the cyst itself. So now I'll remove it in a couple of weeks and end the whole thing hopefully (there's a slight chance of it coming back).

Well, I told you I'll spare you the gross details and make the long story short so screw that and let's keep walking. The latter brings me to this beauty in the center of Athens:
DSC_0011.JPG

Obviously not the first time I see it but probably the first time I capture it under a bright autumn sun close to sundown. That makes the colours as warm as possible - no editing on this one:
DSC_0012.JPG

The statue is located here and was unveiled in 1895. It's interesting to read the story behind it but I'm not doing the easy show off to copy paste it :)

North of the center of the city I find the greenest building I've seen over the years around:
DSC_0013.JPG

Just imagine the wonders this beauty does to this building aesthetically but also energy wise in the summer.

Want some more doctor stuff? No worries, it's more fun fact than gross: After looking at my issue doctor proposes me an appointment for the operation on a Tuesday 13th which is like Friday the 13th for as and tells me "if you are superstitious we can do it on 20th instead". I'm not so the sooner the better and...13th it is. Now we'll know who to blame if the cyst comes back years later 🤣

Next day is lovely so I take advantage for some repairs. Starting from the easy stuff, let's change a light bulb:
DSC_0014.JPG

I'm a little "WTF" watching bits of dried mud in it as it's so hard to reach and my suspicions proved true as I take it apart:
DSC_0015.JPG

It's an insect nest:
DSC_0016.JPG

These guys make an impressive job building their houses. They're more sophisticated and sturdy than they look at first:
DSC_0017.JPG

Reminded me of some wasps I recorded many years ago building their cottage at my cottage upside down:

A hard day's work deserves some good lunch. Fancy an omelette?
DSC_0029.JPG

This one came out among my best ones. I cut the potatoes in bits, put them on the oven and just around the time they were ready I poured in my egg mix containing smoked peppers, goat cheese, garlic and tomato sauce. Put it in the oven, switch it off and in a few minutes it was ready. Sweet.

See you on my next one ;)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center