RE: RE: Building Friendships on Steemit - Tell Me Something About Yourself and Have a Chance to Win 10 SBD!
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Building Friendships on Steemit - Tell Me Something About Yourself and Have a Chance to Win 10 SBD!

RE: Building Friendships on Steemit - Tell Me Something About Yourself and Have a Chance to Win 10 SBD!

I am probably the only person on Steemit or that you will ever meet who has been hit in the face with a running chainsaw. And lived to tell the tale. And still have both eyes, my nose and all my teeth.

7 years ago I was clearing brush with a large Husqvarna chainsaw with a 24" bar. Too large of a saw for what I was doing really. And while I was cutting small branches the saw kicked back hard and caught me right in the face. The force of the hit broke my glasses and left me dazed and staggering. I had no idea I was hurt until I saw the blood starting to drip in a steady stream onto the ground. I reached up to feel my left cheek and was stunned to feel bone, not skin. I sorta pushed the hunks of my cheek back together and stumbled out of the farm windbreak and started looking for my Dad, who was there that day working on a piece of machinery. After wandering in circles (as the blood trail I was leaving behind testified) I found him and he about passed out looking at the bloody mess that was the left side of my face.

Cutting to the chase (cutting...ha ha!) 6 hours later I was in surgery with one of the areas best plastic surgeons who cleaned up the mess and put me all back together and closed me up with 50 stitches. The turning saw blade had hit me square in the cheek from the corner of my mouth to just below the corner of my eye. A half inch higher and I would have lost my eye. 1/2 and inch lower and I would have torn my mouth open and wrecked my teeth. Two inches lower and I would slit my own throat. Pretty blessed eh?!

Today you wouldn't know anything that traumatic had happened to my mug if I didn't point out the scar and let you run your finger along the obvious groove in my cheekbone.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center