Getting my head around comics

Like most kids I grew up reading comics. I read things like The Dandy and The Beano, Later I moved onto more grown-up stuff like Action and 2000A.D. I even read the read the original Star Wars comic. I wish I'd kept some of those as they are probably worth something. I loved the books of Asterix and Tintin. I just seemed to stop reading them as I got older. I've read hundreds of novels in the intervening years, but very few comics.

I've been well aware of the growth of comic culture in more recent times, but hadn't really got into it. Some of the movie adaptations encouraged me to investigate some more and I acquired a few books and enjoyed them.

I just finished reading Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art by Scott McCloud. It's a sort of textbook about how comics work, written as a comic. He gives a good overview of comic history and surveys the techniques used. It's interesting to learn about some of the differences between western and Japanese comic art. It is art of course, despite what some literary snobs may say. I think of comics as a bridge between literature and movies. The comic artist has to design the whole look of the story and create 'shots' that emphasise the drama. Of course a lot of it is fairly trashy, mass-produced stuff, but even that can have merit. The Simpsons book was a second hand purchase that had some nice moments. It's not always about realism. I bought the X-Men book for my son and read it myself. I think you need to have more knowledge of the characters to really enjoy it. I only know them from the movies.

Comics

Steemit has also encouraged me to look at comics more. Artists like @katharsisdrill produce great original work. He's also written about some of the artists he enjoys.

I found some of my old annuals. I picked these up second hand as a kid. The old adventure comics were great fun and I would read them many times. I ought to re-visit them to see if they match my memories. I just looked them up on ebay and they don't go for very high prices. I expect there are certain editions that are more collectable.

Annuals

Action like this in a movie would need a huge budget, even in black and white.

Story

Steem on!

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

I'll buy guitar picks for Steem Dollars

If this post is over seven days old you can vote up one of my newer posts to reward me.

Spam comments may be flagged

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center