Color Challenge: Tuesday Orange: Bullfinch

I'm finally learning Danish birds a bit more this year, since we got a bird feeder. This is the Eurasian Bullfinch (Pyrrhula pyrrhula). I wonder if their name comes from their bullish, territorial attitude. When they get into the feeder, they tend to try to keep everything else away. They're bullies.

bullfinch-male.JPG

He's my orange. But just to be complete, here's the female.

bullfinch-female.JPG

I can't guarantee those are actually a mated pair, but it is likely. They seem to come to the feeder primarily in pairs and they were perched not far from each other.

Both shots can be clicked to view in higher res. They're taken with my Sony Hx400V

ISO 200.
1/100 sec
f/6,3

That's the lowest my camera can do in aperture when at max zoom. It was snowing and I'd gone out to grab a shot of the horses for my haiku the other day, but found the feeder so busy and the weather tolerable, so I sat out there for a while and tried to get some decent shots. I think I succeeded with these.

Now I just need my grandmother's frame to go back online, so I can send her lots of bird photos...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center