Frying coffee beans, new stuff and experience for me

One day, my mother gave me a pack of 200-gram Arabica coffee beans which she had kept for probably over 8 months. It was not clear what variant of the beans was as there were no labels or information on the package, it was completely plain and my Mom simply got it from a friend as a gift a long time ago. As she didn't drink coffee that much, she gave the beans to me to consume. I was a bit in doubt when I got it as it's been kept so long so I wonder if the quality is still any good?

Well as I am not a coffee expert as well, I brought it to the local roastery where I already become a regular there. They had a coffee grinding machine to help me grind the beans and the staff are quite knowledgeable about coffee which I hope they can help me out. I asked the staff to check the beans first and examine the condition if it still good to consume. The staff mentioned if the beans were so humid as its been kept for so long and not gonna taste nice. However, there is one way to help it which is by frying it. What, wait !? fry it ?? Yess....just fry it simply on a wok or pan but without oil and set the stove fire at minimum then fry it for about 5 minutes. This is purposely done to remove the water contained on the beans which caused the humidity. That's what the staff told me, it sounds kinda weird and unique but that's the solution that came from experts so lets try it out then!

I fry it on the shared kitchen in my dormitory kitchen share. There was one female tenant passed by and stop by for a second watching what I was doing and looked a bit confused. Maybe what's on her mind was "what is this guy doing, frying coffee beans ??" then she walked away. Lol. even it's probably looked weird for her, but at least she witnessed a new experience hohoho.

After done frying, I went back to the roastery again on the next day then asked them to grind it. Finally the beans got processed and can be enjoyed soon. The smell when its freshly grinded into powder were sooo nice, can't wait to try it !

Its all ready and I quickly brew it with my Almaz Semi Automatic Coffee Machine. Tried the first zip and it tasted quite good actually for a beans which has ben kept for so long. The characteristic were somewhat earthy with a bit of nut flavor and light bitter. Too bad we all had no information of what beans are they. Anyway, thank you Mom for gave me the beans and for sure the staff at the roastery that helped me out to "recover" the beans.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center