A new genre of ice climbing: Dirtbag ice climbing. Just kidding. It isn't new.

I know I seem to write about my dude @ghostfish a bunch, but damn...he has instigated pretty much 98% of all adventures we have had together. I just usually tag along, cross my fingers, and hope for the best.

What crazy idea does he have up his sleeve now? :eyeroll + praying to jesus:

Somehow he and and our best climbing buddies convinced me to go on an urban ice climb excursion. Shite. I've never ice climbed before. I can barely make it out to my car when it's icy out.

I've been working hard with weights at the gym but I wasn't sure I was ready to depend on some crampons and an ice ax to help scale myself up a wall...but off we went.

In the heart of Minneapolis, under a graffiti plastered (some of the artists' monikers were familiar to me) Franklin Avenue bridge, were a few walls of ice. It was unusually warm that day, about 40 °F or 4 °C, so a lot of the walls have sadly melted.

It was still majestic though in all it's grimy glory. Dirtbag ice climbing, y'all.

IMG_6639.JPG
My good friend Angie, rappelling down. I was too fucking scared to do this as I have not rappelled off of anything since August. I really felt that I needed more practice.

IMG_6452.JPG
Angie's dude, Ross, starting off the first climb of the day. I think.

IMG_6456.JPG
Angie being a bad-ass, per usual.

IMG_6458.JPG
I struggled, as I usually seem to do. This was my first time doing this, so I have to be kinder to myself.

IMG_6459.JPG
@ghostfish conquering the gnar...AND finding a culvert with graffiti in it!

IMG_6643.JPG

IMG_6640.JPG
@ghostfish making a face at me because I asked him to be still for a picture for too long. He says he doesn't know what to do with his face.

Overall, I thought it was a good day for something new. I had a blast. Plus we got to warm our bones with some awesome Greek food after.

Hope you guys enjoyed the photos! Urban ice climbing is pretty fucking cool... you really gotta make do with what you have.

For my Steemian friends, what extreme activities have you tried and absolutely loved? <10/10 would do again>

Please make sure to check out @ghostfish 's blog. Ice climbing video is forthcoming. He has the more extreme experiences and videos. :)

Thank you!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center