Why I Won't Be Able to Post Bachelor Food Posts Anymore. And What's a KTV?

I finally got a girlfriend. Long over due but I was waiting for the right one.


She really puts my Chinese to the test since she doesn't speak much English. I think you can agree it is well worth it.

I've been looking for the right girl for quite some time. It's like every time I find a girl I like she's not into me and when she is into me I am not into her. Finally on the same page, bout time. I met her when I was taking care of those duckling in the spring. She lives in one of the buildings next to mine. I was outside feeding them and she parked her car nearby and started chatting me up. We traded Wechats; which is the modern Chinese equivalent of getting her phone number.

We played Badminton a couple times and she turned down my advances. She said she wanted to be my "Big Sister" which in China is like saying friend who will help you out but nothing more. Which is a HUGE turn off to western men and the best thing a girl can say to us to let us down softly if they are not interested.

Anyways, many months later I saw her climbing up the hill with one of her girlfriends, a really rugged part that I wouldn't even go up. I hadn't really messaged her much since the spring. Most Chinese girls would not go up such a hill and I was reassured that she was not just beautiful but she also has that adventurist spirit I have been looking for in a girl. Believe it or not I was feeding some rabbits living in the same spot I had kept the ducks. I took a quick photo and sent it to her saying "Is that you climbing the mountain?" Well, the rest is history.

We went out a bunch of times and my Chinese just keeps getting better. I put in a good effort to learn more daily. Last night we went to KTV with a couple of her friends and a couple of mine. KTV's are sexy private party rooms with dancing, singing and drinking games. Tons of fun. Well, I'm actually an awful singer but after enough drinks I have no shame belting out some of my favourite tunes. You see if I sing bad all the other bad singers gain some confidence and the party just gets better.

Good drinks, this place didn't have much of an imported beer selection so I went with Corona over the Budweiser. I normally drink whisky but the ladies wouldn't have liked that as much. Shots and a fruit platter to top it all off.

I will let the following photos speak for them self.

If you're ever in China you're going to have to indulge in this most culturally appropriate activity.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center