Spicy potatoe patties - gluten free - baked, no fry

If you’ve been following me you probably know by now that I love eating stuff like chocolate, french fries, avocado and fresh basil.

Not necessarily mixed or in this order. :)

Today I felt like eating potatoes, again. But I didn’t want to fry them, and I wanted to try something new besides the go-to simple baked wedges I’ve been cooking lately.

So I started to Google around for some potato recipes. After I browsed and read through a few different recipes- some Morrocan and Lebanese -, I went to my ktichen and started cooking without a clear idea of what the end product would look like.

I had a vague idea that I would do something like a fritata or an English pie. But I allowed myself to be open to whatever my inspiration told me and I ended up with these patties or potato burgers, whichever way you prefer to call them.

So without further ado, let’s do this.

Ingredients

7 medium potatoes, about 1,5 kg
1 carrot
1 garlic head
3 eggs (preferrably from free range chickens) (If you are vegan I believe you can skip the eggs and it would still work, but I haven’t tried it yet.)
Spices:
1 tsp aslt
1/2 tsp black pepper
1 tsp turmeric (you may put even less, start with 1/2 tsp, I noticed it was a bit too much for much for my taste)
1 tsp sweet paprika
1 tsp black cumin seeds
1 tsp of dry rosemary/thyme/oregano or some fresh dill or parsley, I think fresh is better
1 tbsp olive oil

How to do this:

Preheat oven to medium heat.

Wash and peel potatoes, put them in a big pot of salted water, cover with a lid and bring them to boil. Let them boil until you can stick a fork through them. Mine have been ready in 20’. In the mean time prepare the rest of the ingredients.

IMG_2564.JPG

Peel, wash and grate the carrot.

Peel and crush the garlic cloves.

Measure the spices and put them all in small bowl and prepare the eggs in another bowl.

FullSizeRender 19.jpg

When the potatoes are ready, drain the water, let them cool for a few minutes

IMG_2566.JPG

and then crush them gently with a fork. You don’t wanna overdue this and turned them into mashed potatoes.

IMG_2567.JPG

Gently mix the potatoes with the carrot, garlic, eggs, spices, olive oil.

IMG_2568.JPG

By now it should be cool enough to be able to make some patties with your hands.

Place them nicely in a tray on baking paper.

IMG_2569.JPG

Bake for 20-30’ or until you can flip them over without tearing them apart. Leave them in the oven for 5-10’ more so they get that golden look on both sides.

Take them out of the oven and let them cool down a bit.

IMG_2571.JPG

Eat them as snaks as they are or with a dip, or next to a tomato salad. Or whatever way you like.

Bon appetit!

If you liked this recipe, show it some Steemit love with your upSteem and resteem :)


Hi, I'm Raluca. I've studied communication and psychology, and I'm currently working as a copywriter. You can find me mainly on my blog at BeingRaluca where I write about communication, relationships, listening, sexuality and many more. Here on Steemit you can follow me @raluca.

Raluca


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center