Kittor Checkup Adventure: Clean Bill of Health Edition

The homeless couple I bought Jenny from as a kitten did not warn me that this breed (dilute tortoiseshell calico) is known for being aggressive. Consequently being her cat dad has involved a lot of bleeding claw marks and patience. She is extremely independent and will not hesitate to fight you if you do anything at all she dislikes.

With me, alone, she is a clingy sweetheart who climbs into my shirt, yowls at me to pet her and in all ways is unusually affectionate for a cat. I think because I am her sole outlet for those inclinations. In her mind I am the only trustworthy human in the world.

Trips to the vet have probably only reinforced that notion in her head. The low pitched growling started even before we were inside and she began trying to wrestle her way free, digging her claws into my chest and shoulder. Par for the course, I am so used to it by now I don't even feel it.

The facilities were nice. But Jenny was not having it, and would only stay on the examination table if held there. I found out from the vets that she's in remarkably good health for her age. The bumps I thought were tumors are just her ribs, since she lost a little bit of weight this Summer. I never claimed to be a cat scientist.

They told me that if I wanted to pay for it, they could do X-Rays and bloodwork to test for internal tumors. That's $350 all together. I will hold off on that since according to them, she shows no symptoms and is in all outwardly discernible ways as healthy as a cat ought to be.

Immediately when let go, she leapt to the bench I was on. If I leaned forward, she would try to burrow herself between my back, and the back of the seat. Because she was scared of course, but even at the best of times, she is not shy about what she wants.

This was a load off my mind. Jenny's always been very healthy. I've taken the free range approach with her that I probably will with my kids some day. You can't make anybody stronger by insulating them from the world. They have to get dirty and let their immune system develop.

What a relief she's in good health. This growly, stubborn little fur goblin has been with me for ten years, and if I have anything to say about it, she'll be with me for another ten. When death finally comes for her, I fear for his safety.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now