Flight attendants fly for free?

26860609-4CF5-4D24-928E-C93E447C8E8B.jpeg

The topic of this block. Traveling with reduced price tickets is a topic pilots and cabin crews won't often talk about it or write in blogs, as It is very cheap and they want to keep it for them and their beloved ones or usually because it's so stressfull to fly ''Stand by''. Let me explain what this means, Staff travel is a reduced ticket we all, cabin and flight crew, our family, partner and friends can purchase for our private travel on our off days and vacations. This mean you pay your ticket online and you are listed for the choosen flight but you only get your boarding pass in the gate 5'-10' minutes before gates closure. However, if you are lucky and there are enough seats available, then you can get your seat even from the check in. After you get your seat and you enter the airplane you can relax as the worst part has finished. Then its up to you if you want to present yourself to the active cabin crew, and let them know you are also a flight attendant and in case they need something you are sitting at xxx. This is something I personaly do cause meeting with other airline's crew gives you the chance to share working expieriences and I find it generally interesting but if you don't want to do this you don't have too as it is not mendatory except there is any kind of abnormal or emergency situation which you somehow need to do then. Alright, lets go back to vacation mood. This December I was lucky to get my holidays including the first day of the new year in exchange on working during Christmas days. This is how we keep a Roster balance here and the Crew Planning is being fare to all the Crews. Of course you can apply getting Christmas holidays for the next year. Back on December so, some weeks before, I planed visiting an old friend in Melbourne, Australia, an alsmost 20 hours trip from Europe. This trip was the most amazing trip I did until now in my life, I still can't stop uploading photos from there on Instagram. I visit many stanning landscapes, the weather was perfect warm, the food was delicious and during the whole week I had a lovely kicker jet lag. I will definately go visit back one day! On this point I have to mention that I travel with 3 different big Airlines and I was for the first time in an AirbusA380 and a Boeing 787 Dreamliner which was AMAZING expierience for an aviation geek like me. All crew I met on board where lovely and treat me flawlessly! As they knew I was a Cabin Crew and they were sure I would do the same to them when they will be my passengers. Back to work now and while getting some serius studing done as the recurrent is waiting for me around the corner and all these tests I need to complete after one year in my company. Wish me good luck and read me soon again.

Give me some supporting credits if you enjoy reading me 😊 thank you in advance 💕
Cheers
Georgia

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center