photography; Gurdwara India Golden Temple

IMG_20180917_133052.jpg

Okay, its time to get back to India and my photos from that strange, yet fabulous and crazy place in the world.

Tonight we have Sri Harmandir Sahib, also known as the Golden Temple. It is the holiest Gurdwara, whichis a place of worship for Sikhism, and it is the most important pilgrimage site of Sikhism. It is located in the city of Amritsar, Punjab, India. The temple is built around a man-made pool, and was completed by Guru Ram Das in 1577.

This place made me nervous, it was probably the most sacred and holy location I had been to at this point on my trip. There were a lot of rules, and you must respect each one while trying to take something like this in.

There were also a few restrictions on photography, and the fact that it was a dark hazy night with all lights on the golden center made itthat much more challenging. There are also people bathing in the pool 24 hours a day, so to respect themand their pilgrimage I didn't take many photos.

This image is one of five I took here, and this was the best of the bunch, which says a lot. After walking around the complex I came to this spot and decided that this would probably be my best chance to take a photo. So I walked upto the edge of the pool, sat down and used my lap as a tripod and was able to capture this.

It doesn't do this location justice at all.The stories, music, people, praying, and just everything here was a lot to take in and it is impossible to portray in just one photo. On that note, I hope you enjoy...

U5dr7jntc29Kh829GwvsZtAecjarbAB_1680x8400.jpeg

#Followme.
#Vote.
#Resteem.

By @emrija.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now