blog#7 hitting a low in cortisol

I think my recent drop off of production and success has been due to low cortisol levels. Cortisol levels are very important when it comes to energy levels. Cortisol is coined the stress hormone because it is directly linked as the cause for stress in humans. Anytime or in any way you stress your body you are causing it time to recuperate back to full health. My senior year of high school was easily my most stressful year of my life. I had to balance school, business, learning, and swimming. I was performing at a high level in all of these directions so my body and mind were literally being pulled in five different directions at once. This obviously leads to stress and an increase in cortisol past its natural state. So my levels were shot up for over a 2 years. Now that school is over and all those stressful activities are over it is almost like my energy levels have sunk completely. My body is taking the time to build back up and restabilize and I am going to listen and let it.

So what I am going to do is relax, maintain a good diet, focus on only things I can control, meditate when I need a break, and take days off when I need them. I no longer am meddling with things that don't make me happy like high school, toxic people, or junk food. My goal going forward is to be present and I realize what needs to be done but also listen to my body and take into account what my body is saying.

Any advice would be welcome. Thanks!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center