Few Thoughts on Traveling & Working—It's Fun, But Sometimes Difficult To Balance Everything!

I've been travelling for a while now for meetups and for personal reasons. The past 3 months have been crazy. I have one last short travel left to go before I get back to regular work. It has been exhaustive and yet rewarding to take a break and enjoy life as it happens.

We take life too seriously sometimes and forget that the time we spend on issues we think are serious is just a waste of a precious resource at the end of the day. I have a ton of comments I need to respond to and I can now slowly get to them one by one.

smartphone-695164_1280.jpg

Source

For me, Steemit life=Work life and that's all very important but it has been hard to keep a balance off late.

Due to the locations I've been visiting in the past few weeks I've been missing out on Steemit. I just got home yesterday, feeling a bit unwell and exhausted. The fatigue has set in and I don't feel doing much. This is normal and happens to the best of us. Hopefully as April closes in, I hope to get back to regular work.

I'm also trying to streamline my curation, and community building efforts largely centred around India. In the next couple of weeks that should get sorted out as I build out a small database of active users from my country.

But it sucks to be behind schedule owing to continuous travel. But in the past few months I've been spending time with my friends and meeting people who matter. I've travelled around various locations meeting a TON of Steemians and people whom I think should be using Steemit. Meeting and speaking to these amazing people has given me many ideas and also highlighted several issues of this platform-we'll discuss those later.

But then this is the real life! Our virtual life is just our online presence, we cannot let it rule our life or else we'll end up old (if we're lucky to get that far) and sad having missed out on living out our life to its fullest potential.

I know many who can use their phone for blogging or social media on the go. They have their keys on their phone so they can do everything on the go. Somehow I can't seem to want to do that. Even if it means that I miss out on voting as much as I want to, commenting in great detail, and replying to everyone on my threads, trading regularly to earn a profit and whatnot.

Life is constantly evolving and you have to adapt to its changing ways.

My Steemit income drives my community projects. Hence I have to keep on posting. But it's hard to do everything when you are constantly on the road. Hence I focus on the task at hand instead of juggling everything. You can't have everything all the time. So it's better to enjoy what you have at hand.

My idea of travelling is about experiencing the world around me in as much detail as possible. I make new, real connections everywhere I go. I try to observe everything around me and take it all in. These are very valuable to me! I talk to people about Steemit and Steem and it's all very exciting. I love sharing my ideas and thoughts with my travel partners and learning about theirs. This makes it hard to remain glued to my phone and computer.

Maybe that's just how I'm wired-a bit old school perhaps! Thing is, I started travelling in my teenage years and in those days, we had no mobile phones. There was no way to stay connected 24/7 with your friends or family. I also rode thousands of kms based on directions from people. I would just stop and ask for help.

Life's too short to not to see the world around us and enjoy all that it offers. Don't you think so?

Recently, I've constantly been in areas with poor connectivity and that made it that much harder to focus beyond basic things like publishing a post kept ready in a google drive file, checking my witness server to ensure its working fine and using steepshot to upload some images.

My productivity is best when I'm bound to my desk, either at home or in a hotel room. Personally I'm not comfortable working on the phone when I'm in a taxi, it's nearly impossible for me, yet so easy for some.

Usually, I used to work on my flights. But, off-late my body desires rest and I have been trying to catch up on some sleep on all my recent flights. I've also realised that I don't like being driven around in a taxi. That's just not my idea of travel and yet I had to do it over a period of a week to figure it out for myself. It left me exhausted AF and drained!

How do you manage your social media activity when you are travelling constantly? Do you let your life on Steemit rule everything else in your life?


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Building A List Of Users From India—Please Fill This Form ASAP!
  2. Why You Should Vote For @firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  3. India Steem Meetup #4—An AWESOME Meetup In New Delhi—India's Capital and 40+ Attended!

Follow Me: @firepower

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center