I Want Out! Sick of the Rat Race! How Steemit Has Helped

FB_IMG_1491972131240-1.jpg

That's ^^ what the rat race makes me feel like. We are in a perpetual hamster wheel, day in, day out. I despise it. I despise the "locked in" feeling. The taxes, the requirements, the this, the that. It is all too much. Modern day man is akin to a zombie. Go to work, go home, wash, rinse, repeat. And pretend we are happy to do it.

FB_IMG_1489903954215.jpg

I thought I would be immune to this by doing the "right thing" - going to college for something I'd enjoy. Well, don't get me wrong, I do enjoy my work as a PT assistant. Specializing in the geriatric population and helping them to regain strength and mobility is awesome.

The government beauracrasy behind it isn't. This person doesn't get that specialized PT service they need because they "only have" medicaid. This person gets more treatment than they actually need because they have the almighty "medicare." Then there's this Medicare patient that doesn't get the full care they need because "oh, they don't have a secondary!"

Doesn't matter what your job though, the government is all tangled up in it. If you don't think so, just take a look at that whopping 30-40% they take out of your checks.

Now, I know at a base level SOME taxation can be benificial. But to what avail? People are being taxed to the breaking point. My student loans that I started taking out in college ELEVEN years ago would be paid off by now if I wasnt taxed so harshly.

This post isn't about tax though. It is just about the less than pleasant realities facing most working class people.

The endless stress, the ever elusive peace. It's a lot to handle. Work-life balance, you say? Non existent. Maybe if a full time work week was 25-30 hrs and your commute was within reason. Seems like when I'm off work everything catches up to me, especially rough if I am in a depressive bout. Which I'm prone to, being a person with bipolar disorder and PTSD.

I had to get official documentation written up so I can have mental health days without risking my job (which by the way, I have been a model employee at this company for over 4 years...)

Not to mention the unpleasant chores you have to do on your "days off." Yeah, my head hurts sitting here getting my car maintenance done. My chest feels hella tight in this crowded grocery store with halogens beaming through my skull. Yeah my mouth feels dry trying to "catch up" with my damn neighbors on the weekend. What's wrong with some solidarity? A nature walk with yourself or a friend? Peaceful conversation with your best friend? Alone time? I love being alone. My best thing to say is hold onto those moments. Savor your best friends embrace and kind words. Never let it go.

FB_IMG_1501037835512.jpg

I've always been a firm believer in you need to enjoy what you do. Or at least be passionate about it in some way. I must say, I never thought I'd be as successful on steemit as I have been, both monetarily or socially. I expected maybe a few bucks or less. I mostly got on here because seemed like a pretty cool community and I'm not a big facebooker.

In a short time, steemit has helped me a lot - mentally and monetarily. I've met some really awesome folks - I'd mention you but I just know I'd leave some of you out.

My hope is to go to part time work (since I do love helping old people) and full time steeming! I love steemit. I love reading all you amazing people's blogs. I love being able to pour my crazy heart out and be heard and you guys appreciate it enough to throw a few cents in my cup? Damn, what an amazing place. I hope to be a longstanding part of this community.

20170429_174218.jpg

Thanks for listening! Have a great day/night depending on your locale and, as always, full STEEM ahead!

Image 1 & 2: shared with me
Image 3: Zedge
Image 4: my own!


**I recently created a group on facebook called Steemit Dreamit. Here at Steemit Dreamit we embrace quality content of a genuine intent. We want you to share your steemit blogs here!!! And steemit discussions! We encourage all genres of content! As our group name suggests - if you can DREAM IT you can steemit!! That being said, dreams are original, so your steemit blogs have to be too. The aim of this group is to promote and connect with other awesome steemians and help you build an organic following.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/841836085982525/ **
2017-07-15 16.25.30.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center